04 Dec 2017
December 4, 2017

Why use Access Rights in Sage 50?

0 Comment

If you have a single user version of Sage 50 and you are the only one who uses it, you may have been unaware of the capability of adding a password to your system.  If you are a sole user of the system it isn’t so important, but I meet many companies where multiple staff members use a single user version of Sage 50, and for them setting up access rights could be really useful.

Manager Password

In Sage software before Sage 50 Accounts V23.1 a password was not required to be set up for the Manager logon (which is the equivalent of an admin account for Sage).  This changed with V23.1 and if you log in as Manager on this software you will be required to set up a password.  With changes in GDPR legislation, and the requirements to protect all our data, this requirement to have a password is another layer you can add to adhere to the legislation changes.

For instructions on setting your manager password even in older versions of Sage 50 then take a look at my previous post-Sage Manager Password.

I always stress to my customers the importance of not forgetting this password for the Manager log, as there are a few admin tasks that can only be done when you are logged in as manager, but if you rarely use the log in it is a password you could easily forget.  Record it somewhere safe, and safe does not mean on a post it note by your computer!

Access Rights

Access Rights are not just available in multi user versions of Sage.  Anyone who has multiple staff accessing their Sage software, even on a single user license, can still switch on Access Rights and allow each user to have their own unique log in.  The system records for every transaction, and every order created or invoice raised which user was logged into the system when the transaction was created.  This means if there is a query about the transaction you always know who did the work originally, which can save a lot of time and effort in the future.

You can also set up different levels of access for each username too. So if someone needs access to the Sales Ledger, but you don’t want them seeing the bank balances or management reports, then you can adjust the settings accordingly.  Often owner managers start by using Sage themselves – then as they become busier the bookkeeping is a task which can be delegated or outsourced, but it can be hard to allow someone else access to your sensitive financial information.  Allowing limited access rights to other users can get around this problem.

In single user versions, to enable the Access Rights option open Company Preferences > Parameters > and select the Access Rights check box.  In a multi user system this check box is already ticked and greyed out.

Need Help?

If you would like further help and advice on any aspect of managing your Sage 50 Accounts software and your access rights then please get in touch via the Contact Us page.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.